New Leaders in Education November 2023

Administration November 2023 PREMIUM

At H.O. we congratulate new education leaders that have embarked on the challenging but very rewarding journey of education leadership.


Berenecea Johnson

The California State University (CSU) has appointed Dr. Berenecea Johnson Eanes as the ninth and first woman president of California State University, Los Angeles (Cal State LA). Eanes will assume the university presidency on January 8, 2024. She served as president of York College, City University, City University of New York since 2020 following a one-year interim appointment. Eanes returns to the CSU after serving as vice president for Student Affairs at California State University, Fullerton (2012 to 2019). Eanes earned a bachelor’s degree in public health from Dillard University, a master’s in social work from Boston University and her doctorate in social work from Clark Atlanta University

Matthew Hall 

Texas State University (TXST) has named Matthew Hall its Vice President for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer (VPIT/CIO). Hall comes to Texas State from the University of Central Florida, where he served as VPIT/CIO. Prior to his time at UCF, Hall served as senior associate vice chancellor and CIO at the University of California Santa Barbara, and associate vice chancellor for information technology services, associate chief information architect for Vanderbilt University, where he also held academic appointments as an associate professor of computer science in engineering and a faculty fellow in the English department. Hall earned a Bachelor of Arts in international/global studies from the University of South Florida, and a master’s degree in international relations and affairs from Florida State University. 

Darren Reisberg 

Darren Reisberg has been named senior counselor to Vanderbilt Chancellor Daniel Diermeier. Reisberg, who currently serves as president of Hartwick College in Oneonta, New York, since August 2022, will begin at Vanderbilt in January 2024. He previously was vice president for strategic initiatives and deputy provost to Diermeier at the University of Chicago. While at the University of Chicago, Reisberg also served as secretary of the university, and he was the inaugural executive director of the University of Chicago’s Institute of Politics. From 2019 to 2022, Reisberg was the governor-appointed chair of the Illinois State Board of Education. He earned his bachelor’s in political science from Duke University and his J.D. from Yale Law School.

Liad Wagman

Liad Wagman has been appointed permanent dean of the Stuart School of Business at Illinois Institute of Technology. Wagman has been an integral part of the Stuart community for more than 14 years and has held the position of interim dean since June 1, 2022. As a professor of economics, Wagman has taught at the undergraduate, graduate, and doctoral levels, and was selected to Poets & Quants 2015 Best 40 Under 40 Professors. Dr. Wagman holds a B.S., B.A., in Computer Science and Mathematics from the University of North Carolina, an M.S. in Computer Science from Stanford University, an M.A. in Economics from Duke University, and a Ph.D. in Economics from Duke University.


Share with:

Product information

Post a Job

Post a job in higher education?

Place your job ad in our classified page on the HO print & digital Edition